The Features

The Mahaffey Sessions 1999

Jan 12th, 2023

In 1999, The Features recorded an album with producer Matt Mahaffey (Self) but the album never saw the light of day. The band regrouped and eventually signed to Universal Records, toured with Kings of Leon and found a healthy career of independent success but this album was never heard... until now!

The Mahaffey Sessions 1999 were sourced from the original ADAT tapes at Matt Mahaffey's studio and remastered for digital and vinyl by John Baldwin. Artwork was created by renowned artist Sam Smith based on the band's real equipment and the record was pressed in Smyrna, TN... as close to the bands hometown of Murfreesboro as you can get.

  • 1. Serious2:51
  • 2. Kari-Anne3:12
  • 3. Armani Suede3:16
  • 4. See You Thru3:08
  • 5. Exorcising Demons3:30
  • 6. 33 1/34:46
  • 7. Dark Room2:50
  • 8. Oh My Love2:35
  • 9. Jurley2:45
  • 10. Paid to Think3:50
Produced by Matt Mahaffey and The Features
Mixed by Matt Mahaffey
All songs by Matthew Pelham
Arrangements by The Features and Matt Mahaffey
Tracks 3, 6 and 10 arranged by Dabbs, Haas, Pelham, Sergio, Taylor and Yaw

Bass Guitar - Roger Dabbs
Drums - Rollum Haas
Guitar and Vocals - Matthew Pelham
Keyboards - Parrish Yaw
Additional keyboards by Matt Mahaffey
Strings - Chris Carmichael

Recorded at Mahaffey’s House in Murfreesboro
Mixed at Mahaffey’s House in Laurel Canyon

Artwork by Sam Smith
Mastered by John Baldwin at Infrasonic Sound




all releases